Problem: After installing a Windows 10 Update, it is not possible anymore to open any mdd files with your Unicom programs. This happens to all desktop programs (Unicom, IBM, SPSS) like Survey Reporter, Professional or Author.

The MDSC failed to parse the file. An error occurred when opening the .mdd file. The language 'EN-US' is not available in the current Windows operating system. It is possible that the .mdd file was created in a Windows version that is newer than the curre

Solution: Since April 2018, Microsoft removes some Windows Registry elements which are needed for Unicom Intelligence (IBM / SPSS Dimensions). Use the following text file to add these settings again to the Windows registry. You need to have local admin rights to fulfill this task. It is also possible that you need to repeat that task after running other Windows updates. 

  1. Save the following file "Languages_Windows10_PreApril2018Update.reg.txt" to your desktop.
  2. Remove the ".txt" file extension, so that the file extension shows ".reg".
  3. Double click on the file. You can ignore/accept the warning.
  4. After the file was processed successfully, you will see a confirmation dialog box which you can submit with OK.

You can now open your mdd files as usual. If you have any questions to this or other issues with Unicom Data Collection, please contact us with our Contact Form.

Download
Languages_Windows10_PreApril2018Update.reg.txt
Languages_Windows10_PreApril2018Update.r
Text Dokument 11.0 KB

Problem: Nachdem Sie ein Windows 10 Update installiert haben, können Sie plötzlich keine mdd Dateien mehr öffnen. Davon sind alle Dimensions Programme (Unicom, IBM, SPSS) betroffen: Sowohl der Survey Reporter als auch Professional oder Autor.

Die Datei konnte nicht durch MDSC geparst werden. Beim Öffnen der .mdd-Datei ist ein Fehler aufgetreten. Die Sprache 'EN-US' ist im aktuellen Windows Betriebssystem nicht verfügbar. Möglicherweise wurde die .mdd-Datei in einer Windows-Version erstellt, di

Lösung: Microsoft entfernt bei Updates seit April 2018 einige Einträge aus der Registrierungsdatenbank, welche für Dimensions notwendig sind. Mit einer Text Datei können Sie diese Einträge wieder in die Registrierungsdatenbank (Registry) hinzufügen. Sie benötigen dazu allerdings lokale Administrierungsrechte für Ihren PC. Eventuell müssen Sie diesen Vorgang nach einem neuen Windows Update wiederholen.

  1. Speichern Sie die unten stehende Datei "Languages_Windows10_PreApril2018Update.reg.txt" auf Ihrem Desktop ab.
  2. Entfernen Sie die Endung ".txt", so dass die neue Endung ".reg" heisst.
  3. Doppelklicken Sie auf die Datei. Die Warnung können Sie mit Ja bestätigen.
  4. Nachdem die Datei erfolgreich verarbeitet wurde, bestätigen Sie die Dialogbox mit OK.

Ab jetzt lassen sich die Dateien wie gewohnt öffnen. Falls Sie weitere Fragen zu diesem oder anderen Supportthemen haben, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte mit unserem Kontaktformular.

Download
Languages_Windows10_PreApril2018Update.reg.txt
Languages_Windows10_PreApril2018Update.r
Text Dokument 11.0 KB